Academic nursing program accreditation is national programmatic review of a school's nursing degree or certificate program, granted by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) or the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN). This page is for schools and programs of nursing seeking initial accreditation, forming a new program, or aligning with revised standards. Integral Healthcare Solutions (IHS) supports your nursing program's self-study with governance documents and an evidence structure; your faculty own the curriculum.
Last reviewed: October 2026.
What is nursing program accreditation?
CCNE describes its role this way: "CCNE ensures the quality and integrity of baccalaureate, graduate, and residency/fellowship programs in nursing" (CCNE, Accreditation Process). ACEN's process page lists program types from practical nursing through doctoral programs, and also "Transition-to-practice programs" (ACEN, Accreditation Process).
The governing texts:
- CCNE. "Standards for Accreditation of Baccalaureate and Graduate Nursing Programs (2024)," effective January 1, 2025; "Standards for Accreditation of Baccalaureate and Graduate Nursing Programs (2026)," effective January 1, 2027; and the "Procedures for Accreditation of Baccalaureate and Graduate Nursing Programs" (CCNE, Standards, Procedures and Guidelines).
- ACEN. The "ACEN Standards and Criteria." The ACEN pages we reviewed did not state which edition is in effect; confirm the current edition with ACEN's posted materials.
ACEN's process runs through a self-study, "The program's self-reflection regarding its compliance with the ACEN Standards and Criteria"; a site visit by peer evaluators; review in which "A program-specific Evaluation Review Panel examines the reports"; and "an accreditation decision" by the ACEN Board of Commissioners (ACEN, Accreditation Process).
Who needs it and what triggers it
The buyers are schools, colleges and programs of nursing. Both accreditors start from the parent institution and the state:
- CCNE new applicants must supply "Evidence that the parent institution is accredited by an institutional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education" and "Evidence that the nursing program is approved or otherwise authorized by all applicable state boards of nursing" (CCNE, Application Process).
- ACEN requires that "The governing organization/institution is accredited or approved to pursue accreditation by a governing organization/institutional accrediting agency recognized by the ACEN" and "is legally authorized to grant the credential (degree, diploma, or certificate)" (ACEN, Eligibility).
Common triggers:
- A new program seeking initial accreditation. At CCNE, "New applicant status signifies an affiliation with CCNE; it is not a status of accreditation" (CCNE). At ACEN, "Candidacy is not accreditation. It is the first step for a nursing program seeking initial accreditation" (ACEN, Candidacy FAQ).
- A two-year clock. A CCNE new applicant "must submit a complete self-study document and host an on-site evaluation by CCNE within 2 years of the date of acceptance as a new applicant" (CCNE). ACEN programs with Candidacy status have "two years to host an initial accreditation visit" (ACEN).
- A standards change. CCNE's 2026 baccalaureate and graduate standards take effect January 1, 2027 (CCNE).
How IHS helps
Your institution confirms eligibility, chooses the accreditor and obtains the standards. IHS then works with your nursing leadership and faculty:
- A gap assessment against the CCNE or ACEN standards for your program's level, using questionnaires on governance, faculty, clinical partners, student policies and outcomes.
- Document and evidence mapping: a crosswalk from each standard to the record that shows the program meets it.
- Drafting: governance documentation and policy alignment, for faculty and program leadership to review and approve.
- Support producing the self-study, organized against the crosswalk.
- A mock review of the self-study and evidence before the on-site evaluation or site visit.
What you supply: the standards, faculty and clinical partner records, student policies, outcome data, and nurse educators who own curriculum and faculty decisions.
The limit: curriculum and educational resources are the faculty's. IHS supplies organizational development and evidence work only, and does not submit the self-study or any report to CCNE or ACEN. Your institution does.
What to have ready
This is the list we would ask for first, each item tied to what CCNE or ACEN publishes.
- Evidence of the parent institution's accreditation by an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education (CCNE) or recognized by ACEN (CCNE; ACEN).
- Evidence that the nursing program is "approved or otherwise authorized by all applicable state boards of nursing" (CCNE).
- For ACEN, evidence the institution "is legally authorized to grant the credential (degree, diploma, or certificate)" (ACEN).
- The standards edition that will apply: for CCNE, the 2024 standards or the 2026 standards effective January 1, 2027 (CCNE); for ACEN, the current Standards and Criteria. The CCNE pages we reviewed do not say which edition governs an evaluation scheduled near the January 1, 2027 change; your institution asks CCNE and records the answer.
- A two-year plan from acceptance or Candidacy to the visit (CCNE; ACEN).
- For a CCNE degree program, students enrolled "for the equivalent of one academic year (e.g., two semesters) prior to hosting an on-site evaluation" (CCNE).
- A visit date booked early: "On-site evaluations are generally scheduled with CCNE a minimum of 12 months in advance" (CCNE).
- Faculty, clinical partner and outcome records for the self-study (ACEN; CCNE).
- A budget for accreditor fees from ACEN's schedule or CCNE's fee structure (ACEN fees; CCNE).
If most of this is in place, the introductory call is the place to start.
How it compares
| CCNE | ACEN | |
|---|---|---|
| Programs covered | Baccalaureate, graduate, and residency/fellowship programs (CCNE) | Practical through doctoral programs, plus transition-to-practice programs (ACEN) |
| First step | New applicant status, "not a status of accreditation" (CCNE) | Candidacy, "not accreditation" (ACEN) |
| Time to visit | Self-study and on-site evaluation within 2 years of acceptance as a new applicant (CCNE) | Two years from Candidacy to host an initial accreditation visit (ACEN) |
| Institutional base | Parent institution accredited by an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education (CCNE) | Institution accredited or approved to pursue accreditation by an agency recognized by ACEN; ACEN's eligibility page lists other routes for some institution types, such as vocational schools or public school systems approved by a state education department, and hospitals that hold institutional accreditation (ACEN) |
| First term | New applicants are eligible for a maximum term of 5 years (CCNE) | Not stated on the pages we reviewed |
| Published fees | Refers to the "CCNE Fee Structure"; amounts not on the pages we reviewed | Published schedule for 2026 and 2027 (ACEN) |
This page does not recommend one accreditor over the other.
What it costs
ACEN publishes a schedule of fees per nursing education program type (ACEN, Schedule of Fees). Domestic fees:
| ACEN fee | 2026 | 2027 |
|---|---|---|
| Candidacy | $2,700 | $2,780 |
| Initial Accreditation | $3,500 | $3,605 |
| Site Visit Scheduling | $1,335 | $1,375 |
| Continuing Accreditation | $3,195 | $3,290 |
Verify current fees with ACEN.
We did not open the "CCNE Fee Structure" that CCNE's application page refers new applicants to, so this page lists no CCNE amounts (CCNE).
IHS scopes each engagement after a free introductory call.
What this is not
- IHS is not an accrediting body and does not grant, influence or predict a CCNE or ACEN decision.
- IHS does not submit applications, self-studies or reports to CCNE, ACEN or a state board of nursing, or correspond with them on your behalf. IHS drafts; your institution submits.
- This page is not legal advice. Curriculum, faculty decisions and educational resources belong to your faculty.
Frequently asked questions
CCNE or ACEN: which accreditor fits our nursing program?
That choice belongs to your institution. CCNE describes its scope as baccalaureate, graduate, and residency/fellowship programs in nursing. ACEN's process page lists program types from practical nursing through doctoral programs, plus transition-to-practice programs.
Can an associate degree or practical nursing program be CCNE accredited?
CCNE's own description of its scope covers baccalaureate, graduate, and residency/fellowship programs in nursing; we did not find associate or practical programs listed in that description, and this page does not conclude that CCNE excludes them. Confirm CCNE's scope with CCNE. ACEN's program types include practical nursing programs.
What is CCNE new applicant status?
CCNE states that new applicant status signifies an affiliation with CCNE and is not a status of accreditation. New applicants supply evidence of the parent institution's accreditation by an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and of state board of nursing approval or authorization.
What is ACEN Candidacy?
ACEN states that Candidacy is not accreditation; it is the first step for a nursing program seeking initial accreditation. Programs with Candidacy status have two years to host an initial accreditation visit.
How long does initial nursing program accreditation take?
At CCNE, a new applicant must submit a complete self-study and host an on-site evaluation within 2 years of acceptance, and on-site evaluations are generally scheduled at least 12 months in advance. At ACEN, a program with Candidacy has two years to host its initial accreditation visit, followed by Evaluation Review Panel review and a Board of Commissioners decision.
Do we need students enrolled before the on-site evaluation?
For CCNE, yes. A degree program must have students enrolled for the equivalent of one academic year, such as two semesters, before hosting an on-site evaluation.
Does our parent institution need institutional accreditation first?
CCNE asks for evidence that the parent institution is accredited by an institutional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. ACEN requires the institution to be accredited, or approved to pursue accreditation, by an institutional accrediting agency recognized by ACEN, and legally authorized to grant the credential. ACEN's eligibility page lists other routes for some institution types, such as vocational schools or public school systems approved by a state education department, and hospitals that hold institutional accreditation.
What goes into a nursing program self-study?
ACEN defines the self-study as the program's self-reflection regarding its compliance with the ACEN Standards and Criteria. CCNE requires new applicants to submit a complete self-study document before the on-site evaluation. The content follows the standards edition that applies to your program.
How much does ACEN or CCNE accreditation cost?
ACEN's 2026 domestic fees per program type are $2,700 for Candidacy, $3,500 for Initial Accreditation, $1,335 for Site Visit Scheduling and $3,195 for Continuing Accreditation, rising slightly in 2027. CCNE refers applicants to its CCNE Fee Structure; amounts were not on the pages we reviewed. Verify current fees with each accreditor.
How long is the first accreditation term for a new program?
CCNE states that new applicants for accreditation are eligible for a maximum accreditation term of 5 years. The ACEN pages we reviewed did not state a first-term length.
