Service

CODA accreditation of a dental or allied dental program is the Commission on Dental Accreditation's review of a predoctoral dental school, or of a dental assisting, dental hygiene, dental laboratory technology or dental therapy program, against the CODA standards for that program type. It is for dental schools and the colleges and other sponsors that run allied dental programs, whether they are starting a program or keeping an accredited one aligned with its standards. Integral Healthcare Solutions (IHS) builds the workplan, policy alignment and evidence for CODA accreditation; your educators own curriculum and competency.

Last reviewed: October 2026.

What is CODA accreditation for dental and allied dental programs?

CODA states: "The Commission on Dental Accreditation develops and implements accreditation standards that promote and monitor the continuous quality and improvement of dental education programs" (CODA, Accreditation Standards).

The governing texts are the CODA standards for the program type. CODA's standards page lists standards for "Predoctoral Dental Education Programs" and for the allied programs "Dental Assisting," "Dental Hygiene," "Dental Laboratory Technology" and "Dental Therapy" (CODA). Work from the current document posted for your program type, and check the page for the exact title of the predoctoral document.

One implementation date on the standards page affects planning (CODA):

CODA's status definitions (CODA, Accreditation Status Definitions):

Who needs it and what triggers it

Dental schools and allied dental program sponsors need it when they form a program, seek initial accreditation, or keep an accredited program aligned with changed standards.

On timing for a new program, the CODA figures we reviewed come from its 2025 Initial Accreditation Application for a developing Dental Public Health program, which states that "a site visit is scheduled four (4) to seven (7) months following completion of the application review" and that the Commission's first opportunity to consider the program "is generally 12 to 18 months" after it acknowledges receipt of the application. That document is for an advanced dental education program. CODA has not stated these figures for predoctoral or allied programs in the documents we reviewed; they are not a basis for planning those programs. Confirm timing with CODA for your program type.

How IHS helps

IHS works from the CODA standards for your program type, after your program has confirmed eligibility and has access to the standards. The process:

  1. Gap assessment. IHS reads your program against each standard and lists what is missing or not yet documented.
  2. Accreditation workplan. IHS turns the gaps into a dated plan with owners.
  3. Policy alignment. IHS aligns academic policies with the standards and drafts revisions for your faculty and administration to approve.
  4. Evidence mapping. IHS organizes clinical affiliation evidence and student record controls, and documents the outcomes review, in a crosswalk from each standard to its record.
  5. Self-study support. IHS supports the self-study as your program writes it.
  6. Mock review. IHS reviews the evidence against the standards before the site visit.

What your program supplies: the CODA standards, program records, and the dental and allied educators who own curriculum and competency. Your program requests the application from CODA, submits it and hosts the site visit. IHS drafts; your program submits.

The limit: clinical training and competency judgments belong to your educators. IHS does not make them.

See how this fits with our other programs on the Accreditation Consulting page.

What to have ready

This list draws on CODA's standards page, Apply for Accreditation page, status definitions and 2026 and 2027 Fee Schedule.

  1. Your program type as CODA lists it (predoctoral, dental assisting, dental hygiene, dental laboratory technology or dental therapy) and the current CODA standards document for it.
  2. A note of whether the July 1, 2028 implementation date for the 2028 Dental Education Standards touches your program.
  3. A projected enrollment date for a new program, since initial accreditation "is in effect through the projected enrollment date" (CODA).
  4. Your program's contact for the application. CODA states: "To obtain an application, please contact the CODA staff member in charge of your specific discipline."
  5. The application fee, budgeted. CODA states that "The application process begins once we have received both your application and payment."
  6. Academic policies, collected for alignment against the standards.
  7. Clinical affiliation records and student record controls, gathered for the evidence crosswalk.
  8. Program outcome data and the record of how the program reviews it.
  9. The annual program fee for your program type, budgeted from CODA's fee schedule.

If you want to talk through where your program stands on this list, the introductory call is the place to start.

How it compares

Within CODA, the program types follow different standards and carry different fees. This table describes them; it does not say which one fits your institution.

Program typeCODA standards listedApplication fee (2026)Annual program fee (2026)
Predoctoral dental education (United States)"Predoctoral Dental Education Programs"$74,140$10,260
Dental assisting"Dental Assisting"$18,540$2,580
Dental hygiene"Dental Hygiene"$18,540$2,580
Dental therapy"Dental Therapy"$18,540$2,580
Dental laboratory technology"Dental Laboratory Technology"$18,540$1,830

Sources: CODA standards page; CODA fee schedule. Postdoctoral programs such as general practice residencies follow their own discipline standards; see CODA advanced dental education accreditation.

What it costs

CODA publishes its own fees. From CODA's "2026 and 2027 Fee Schedule" (CODA fee schedule, fetched October 2, 2026):

CODA fee20262027
Application fee, Predoctoral (United States)$74,140$77,110
Application fee, Allied$18,540$19,290
Annual program fee, Predoctoral (United States)$10,260$10,680
Annual program fee, Dental Assisting, Dental Hygiene, Dental Therapy$2,580$2,690
Annual program fee, Dental Laboratory Technology$1,830$1,910
Annual Administrative Fee (per program)$50$50
Special Focused Site Visit (Administrative Fee)$6,000$6,000

Verify current fees with CODA before budgeting.

IHS scopes each engagement after a free introductory call.

What this is not

Frequently asked questions

How does a college start a CODA-accredited dental hygiene or dental assisting program?

Begin with the current CODA standards for Dental Hygiene or Dental Assisting and a projected enrollment date. CODA states that the program obtains an application from the CODA staff member in charge of its discipline, and that the process begins once CODA has received both the application and payment. A developing program receives Initial Accreditation, which is in effect through the projected enrollment date.

What does CODA accreditation cost for a new dental school?

CODA's 2026 and 2027 Fee Schedule lists a Predoctoral (United States) application fee of $74,140 in 2026 and $77,110 in 2027, and an annual program fee of $10,260 in 2026 and $10,680 in 2027. A $50 annual administrative fee applies per program. Verify current fees with CODA.

What does a dental hygiene or dental assisting program pay CODA each year?

CODA's 2026 and 2027 Fee Schedule lists an Allied application fee of $18,540 in 2026 and $19,290 in 2027, and an annual program fee for Dental Assisting, Dental Hygiene and Dental Therapy of $2,580 in 2026 and $2,690 in 2027, plus a $50 annual administrative fee per program. Verify current fees with CODA.

Do we need CODA initial accreditation before admitting students?

CODA defines Initial Accreditation as the classification for a program that is not yet fully operational, in effect through the projected enrollment date. The explicit apply-before-enrolling sentence we reviewed appears in CODA's 2025 application for a developing Dental Public Health program, in a passage about advanced dental education. We have not reviewed the equivalent wording for predoctoral or allied programs, so confirm it in the application for your program type.

What are CODA's accreditation statuses and what does each mean?

CODA's definitions page describes Initial Accreditation for a program not yet fully operational. Approval without reporting requirements means the program achieves or exceeds the basic requirements for accreditation. Approval with reporting requirements means specific deficiencies or weaknesses exist in one or more areas of the program.

What changes with the 2028 CODA Dental Education Standards?

CODA's standards page shows a July 1, 2028 implementation date for the 2028 Dental Education Standards. We have not summarized the changes on this page; read the standards document itself. IHS can compare your current program against the new text in a gap assessment.

How long does CODA take to review an initial accreditation application?

The timing CODA states that we reviewed comes from its 2025 Dental Public Health application: a site visit four to seven months after the application review is complete, and a first Commission consideration generally 12 to 18 months after CODA acknowledges receipt of the application. CODA has not stated these figures for predoctoral or allied programs in the documents we reviewed; they are not a basis for planning those programs. Confirm timing with CODA for your program type.

What is a dental therapy program and does CODA accredit it?

CODA's standards page lists Dental Therapy among the allied dental education standards it publishes, and CODA's fee schedule lists an annual program fee for Dental Therapy of $2,580 in 2026 and $2,690 in 2027. Scope of practice for dental therapists is outside this page.

Talk with IHS's CEO

A 30-minute introductory meeting with Thomas G. Goddard, JD, PhD, to scope what your organization needs.

Schedule a Free Discovery Session