CoARC publishes two fee schedules that together cover 2026 through 2029. This guide lays out every line from both, explains how the lines relate, and works through arithmetic on the published figures, all read on October 3, 2026. Verify current fees with CoARC.
Last reviewed: October 2026.
What CoARC publishes and where
CoARC's CoARC accreditation fees page (page opened October 3, 2026) links two documents: the 2024-2026 fee schedule, an image, and the 2027-2029 fee schedule, a PDF. The image heads its three columns as of January 1 of 2024, 2025 and 2026. The PDF heads its columns 2027, 2028 and 2029 and gives no effective date in its text. CoARC's payments page (page opened October 3, 2026) covers how invoices are paid. The tables use the 2026 column of the image and all three PDF columns. Not shown means that schedule lacks the line.
The fee tables
Annual fees
| Fee line | 2026 | 2027 | 2028 | 2029 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Base program, single sponsor (entry-level in the 2027-2029 schedule) | $3,075 | $3,200 | $3,300 | $3,500 |
| Base program, consortium | $3,325 | $4,000 | $4,100 | $4,300 |
| Add-on degree track, each (APRT or DA in the 2027-2029 schedule) | $1,600 | $1,700 | $1,800 | $1,900 |
| Satellite, each | $1,150 | $1,200 | $1,300 | $1,400 |
| Sleep disorders specialist (SDS) option | $800 | $1,200 | $1,300 | $1,400 |
Letter of intent fees
| Fee line | 2026 | 2027 | 2028 | 2029 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Base program, single sponsor | $3,650 | $3,800 | $3,900 | $4,100 |
| Base program, consortium (listed under the Add-On heading in the 2027-2029 schedule) | $3,875 | $4,500 | $4,700 | $4,800 |
| Add-on degree track, each (APRT or DA in the 2027-2029 schedule) | $1,875 | $2,000 | $2,100 | $2,200 |
| Satellite | $800 | $900 | $1,000 | $1,100 |
| SDS option | $500 | $900 | $1,000 | $1,100 |
Provisional self-study report (PSSR) fees
| Fee line | 2026 | 2027 | 2028 | 2029 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Base program, single sponsor | $2,950 | $3,100 | $3,200 | $3,300 |
| Base program, consortium | $3,225 | $3,900 | $4,000 | $4,100 |
| Add-on degree track, each | $1,600 | $1,700 | $1,800 | $1,900 |
| Satellite | $1,150 | $1,200 | $1,300 | $1,400 |
| SDS option | $1,150 | $1,200 | $1,300 | $1,400 |
Continuing self-study report (CSSR) fees
| Fee line | 2026 | 2027 | 2028 | 2029 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Base program, single sponsor | $2,275 | $2,400 | $2,500 | $2,600 |
| Base program, consortium | $2,525 | $3,200 | $3,300 | $3,400 |
| Add-on degree track, each | $1,275 | $1,400 | $1,500 | $1,600 |
| Satellite (see the condition below) | $1,000 for an initial affirmation | $0 for an initial affirmation | $0 for an initial affirmation | $0 for an initial affirmation |
| SDS option | $800 | $1,200 | $1,300 | $1,400 |
Satellite condition: the satellite CSSR amount is for an initial affirmation. When a satellite is reaffirmed, both schedules fold its charge into the base program's CSSR reaffirmation fee, so no separate satellite amount appears for that step.
Site visit fees
| Fee line | 2026 | 2027 | 2028 | 2029 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard site visit: base program, satellite or add-on degree track only (2 site visitors) | Not shown | $3,600 | $3,800 | $4,000 |
| Add an add-on degree track (2 more site visitors) | Not shown | $3,600 | $3,800 | $4,000 |
| Add a satellite (1 more site visitor) | Not shown | $1,800 | $1,900 | $2,000 |
| Add an off campus laboratory site (1 more site visitor) | Not shown | $1,800 | $1,900 | $2,000 |
| Focused site visit | Not shown | $1,700 | $1,800 | $2,000 |
| Virtual site visit (marked Degree Advancement only in the 2027-2029 schedule) | $2,500 | $2,600 | $2,700 | $2,800 |
| Site visit rescheduling (plus applicable expenses) | $800 | $900 | $1,000 | $1,100 |
Reconsideration, appeals and other fees
| Fee line | 2026 | 2027 | 2028 | 2029 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reconsideration | Not shown | $1,100 | $1,200 | $1,300 |
| Appeals | Not shown | $5,100 | $5,200 | $5,300 |
| Substantive change processing | $250 | $300 | $400 | $500 |
| Administrative probation | $600 | $1,100 | $1,200 | $1,300 |
| Key Personnel Academy | $400 | $500 | $500 | $500 |
| Off campus laboratory site (listed among annual fees from 2027) | $750 | $400 | $500 | $600 |
Sources: the 2024-2026 fee schedule (2026 column) and the 2027-2029 fee schedule (2027 to 2029 columns), both opened October 3, 2026. Verify current fees with CoARC.
How the fee structure works
Fees follow the program's shape. A base program is priced as single sponsor or as consortium. Each added degree track, satellite or sleep disorders specialist option carries its own lines at every stage, and these are separate from the base program lines.
The stage fees (letter of intent, PSSR, CSSR) each belong to one step of the process. The annual fee is the line that continues. Site visits are priced by who attends: the standard fee covers two visitors, and the added-track, satellite and laboratory lines name how many more they bring.
Within 2027 to 2029, every priced line rises each year except two: the Key Personnel Academy stays at $500, and the satellite CSSR amount for an initial affirmation stays at $0. The off campus laboratory site falls from $750 in the 2026 image to $400 in 2027, and the two schedules group it differently.
What the schedule does not include
- Expenses. Only the rescheduling line mentions them: the 2027-2029 PDF says applicable expenses and the 2024-2026 image says applicable prepaid expenses. Whether other site visit lines include travel is not stated.
- Invoice timing. Neither schedule says when a stage fee is billed or how a program moves between years.
- Who classifies the program. The schedules do not say who decides whether a program is single sponsor, consortium or an added track.
- A 2026 standard site visit fee, reconsideration, appeals or focused visit line. These are absent from the 2024-2026 image as opened.
Reading the schedule
This is arithmetic on the published figures, not an estimate of any bill. Verify current fees with CoARC.
- A single-sponsor base program's annual fee goes from $3,075 in 2026 to $3,200 in 2027, a difference of $125. From 2027 to 2029 it rises another $300, to $3,500.
- The consortium annual fee goes from $3,325 in 2026 to $4,000 in 2027, a difference of $675.
- At 2027 rates, the letter of intent ($3,800), PSSR ($3,100) and one standard site visit ($3,600) add to $10,500. Adding the CSSR ($2,400) and a second standard visit ($3,600) gives $16,500 for those five lines. The schedule does not state which years they fall in, and annual fees are on top.
- A base program with one degree advancement add-on pays $3,200 plus $1,700, or $4,900, in annual fees at 2027 rates.
Where this fits
The CoARC respiratory care program accreditation page covers the process, the standards and how IHS builds the crosswalk and records. This page covers only the published fees.
What this is not
- It is not a quote of CoARC's schedule. The tables restate figures with links, and CoARC's documents control.
- It is not IHS pricing. IHS scopes each engagement after a free introductory call.
- IHS does not set or collect CoARC fees.
Frequently asked questions
Which CoARC fees come back every year?
The annual fee is the recurring line. In the 2027-2029 schedule it is listed per base program, per add-on track, per satellite and for the SDS option, and the off campus laboratory site is listed in that group too. The letter of intent, PSSR and CSSR fees are each tied to a stage of the process, and the schedules do not say when each is invoiced.
Does CoARC publish more than one fee schedule?
The fees page links two. One is an image with three columns headed as of January 1 of 2024, 2025 and 2026. The other is a PDF with columns for 2027, 2028 and 2029. Pages opened October 3, 2026.
Is a consortium program priced differently from a single-sponsor program?
Both schedules list consortium base programs on their own lines. At 2027 rates the consortium annual fee is $4,000 against $3,200 for a single-sponsor base program, and the consortium letter of intent fee is $4,500 against $3,800. Neither explains the difference.
What does a CoARC site visit cost?
In the 2027-2029 schedule a standard visit for a base program, satellite or add-on degree track is $3,600 in 2027 with two site visitors, rising to $4,000 in 2029. Added visitors, focused and virtual visits and rescheduling have their own lines. The 2024-2026 image shows no standard visit line, so ask CoARC about 2026.
Do the schedules say whether travel is included in a site visit fee?
Only the rescheduling line mentions expenses. The 2027-2029 PDF says applicable expenses and the 2024-2026 image says applicable prepaid expenses. Neither schedule says anything about travel or other expenses for the remaining site visit lines, so ask CoARC before you budget.
How are CoARC invoices paid?
CoARC's payments page describes three things: who issues the invoice (Intuit), a portal for paying by card, and a mailing address for checks. The page opened October 3, 2026. Verify current payment instructions with CoARC.
What are the reconsideration and appeals fees?
The 2027-2029 schedule lists reconsideration at $1,100 in 2027 and appeals at $5,100 in 2027, each rising slightly in 2028 and 2029. The 2024-2026 image does not show those lines. Verify current fees with CoARC.
Does IHS set or collect CoARC fees?
No. CoARC sets and invoices its own fees. IHS scopes each engagement after a free introductory call.
