Ambulatory surgery centers can seek accreditation from The Joint Commission, AAAHC, QUAD A or ACHC. This page sets the four side by side from each body's own pages, opened October 3, 2026, and does not recommend one. For process and readiness detail, see AAAHC ambulatory accreditation (handbook versions and readiness steps), QUAD A outpatient accreditation (its programs and full fee schedule) and ACHC ambulatory surgery center accreditation (the ACHC ASC program).
Last reviewed: October 2026.
What each body accredits for this program
The Joint Commission. ASCs sit inside its Ambulatory Health Care program, which the page puts at more than 2,200 accredited organizations, ASCs among them (program page, page opened October 3, 2026). For an ASC that needs Medicare certification, the page describes one survey that serves the accreditation decision and the Medicare review together, under CMS approval of The Joint Commission for that role, with the certification ruling itself left to CMS (ASC page, page opened October 3, 2026). Before applying, check your patient volume against the eligibility list on the program page, which sets a floor of 10 patients served and at least two still in active care when the survey takes place.
AAAHC. Its ambulatory accreditation lists ASCs among a wider set of outpatient settings, with office-based surgery and primary care among them (ambulatory page, page opened October 3, 2026). Medicare certification runs through a separate Medicare Deemed Status program with its own handbook, and the application includes a self-attestation keyed to the federal ASC definition in 42 CFR 416.2 (Medicare Deemed Status page, page opened October 3, 2026).
QUAD A. It lists its Medicare ASC program as a separate application track from its office-based programs, and the Medicare ASC application asks for proof that the carrier has processed CMS form 855B (prospective facilities page, page opened October 3, 2026).
ACHC. Its ASC page lists ASC and office-based surgery accreditation, and names a TIME option aimed at new ASCs, which ACHC says shortens several steps between application and the accreditation decision (ASC page, page opened October 3, 2026).
Side by side
| Item | The Joint Commission | AAAHC | QUAD A | ACHC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Program | Ambulatory Health Care, ASCs included | Ambulatory accreditation, plus separate Medicare Deemed Status | Medicare ASC program | ASC accreditation |
| Standards document named | Not named for ambulatory care on the pages opened | Accreditation Handbook for Ambulatory Health Care, and a separate Medicare Deemed Status handbook | Medicare ASC Accreditation Standards Manual (linked file v.9.0, effective April 7, 2025) | Not named on the page opened |
| Medicare ASC position as stated | CMS-approved accrediting organization. ASC page covers initial Medicare certification | Dedicated Medicare Deemed Status program | Separate Medicare ASC program. Application asks for proof of processed CMS form 855B | CMS-approved accrediting organization. ASC page dates its ASC deeming role to 2003 |
| Term as stated | About three years | Three years, with required interim activities | Re-survey every third year | Not stated on the page opened |
| Survey notice | Usually no advance date. Non-deemed initial surveys are the exception | Medicare deemed surveys give no date. Standard surveys follow a 30-day posted-notice rule | Medicare ASC surveys unannounced | Not stated on the page opened |
| After the survey | Evidence of standards compliance due within 60 days | Not detailed on the pages opened | Formal report and Plan of Correction | Only the TIME option for new ASCs addresses report timing |
| Fee figures published | None, structure only | None | Yes, table below | None |
What drives the choice
Payer or contract language. Payer manuals and network agreements sometimes name the accreditors they accept. None of the four pages opened lists accepted payers, so the contract text is the source to read.
State licensure or facility rules. States treat accreditation differently. AAAHC announced on August 11, 2026 a new agreement with the Oregon Health Authority under which its Medicare Deemed Status accreditation can count for an eligible Oregon ASC's state relicensure survey (AAAHC announcement, page opened October 3, 2026). On its ASC page The Joint Commission points Medicare-certification applicants to their state agency for licensing requirements and says the account executive may ask for a copy of the license. QUAD A's fee schedule names California, New York, Florida, Indiana, Nevada, Ohio, Texas and Washington as states where a new facility may need a start-up survey before its first cases, and adds that other states may be included as rules change (QUAD A fee schedule, opened October 3, 2026).
Medicare ASC deeming. CMS lists AAAHC, The Joint Commission, QUAD A and ACHC among its approved accrediting organizations (CMS accrediting organizations page, page opened October 3, 2026), though not by program. Program-level statements are in the table above.
Accreditation term and survey model. Notice differs by body and survey type. The Joint Commission's on-site method is called tracer methodology, in which surveyors use individual patients' care to examine how the organization's processes work together (process page, page opened October 3, 2026).
QUAD A Medicare ASC fee figures
QUAD A is the only body of the four that published figures on the pages opened. QUAD A dates the schedule April 7, 2025 for invoicing purposes (QUAD A fee schedule PDF, opened October 3, 2026). Verify current fees with QUAD A.
| Physicians on staff | Specialties | Facility size | Annual fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 to 2 | Up to 2 | Small | $1,980 |
| 3 to 5 | Up to 2 | Small | $2,475 |
| 3 to 5 | 3 or more | Small | $2,783 |
| 6 to 9 | Up to 2 | Medium | $5,313 |
| 6 to 9 | 3 or more | Medium | $5,610 |
| 10 plus | Up to 2 | Large | $7,491 |
| 10 plus | 3 or more | Large | $8,437 |
| Survey fee item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Full survey, small facility | $4,130 |
| Full survey, medium facility | $5,480 |
| Full survey, large facility | $6,280 |
| Additional Life and Safety Code survey, all ASCs | $3,135 |
In a re-survey year, the schedule puts the annual fee and the survey fee on one invoice, and it adds a Life Safety survey for Medicare ASCs. Arithmetic on the published figures, not a quote or an estimate of any bill: the small-facility row at 1 to 2 physicians adds to $1,980 + $4,130 + $3,135 = $9,245, and the large-facility row at 10 plus physicians and 3 or more specialties adds to $8,437 + $6,280 + $3,135 = $17,852. Neither sum includes application payments or other charges.
The other three give no figures. The Joint Commission's pricing page describes an annual fee and an on-site fee and gives no dollar amounts. It says the amounts depend on the services offered and the organization's average daily census (pricing page, page opened October 3, 2026). AAAHC's page ties the survey fee to the size of survey your application calls for and gives no amounts. ACHC's ASC page states that it has no annual fee and gives no other figures. Verify current fees with The Joint Commission, AAAHC and ACHC.
Where the sources are silent
The Joint Commission pages opened do not name the ambulatory standards manual or edition. The AAAHC ambulatory page does not say whether its standard accreditation, apart from the Medicare Deemed Status program, serves Medicare certification. The ACHC page states no term, survey notice rule or standards edition. No page opened says which payers accept which body.
Where this fits
The AAAHC page covers the handbook version note and readiness work. The QUAD A page covers its outpatient programs and fee schedule, and the ACHC ASC page covers that program.
What this is not
This page is not a recommendation, not a quote of any accreditor's text, and not IHS pricing. IHS does not set or collect accreditor fees. Your organization applies to and corresponds with the accreditor, and IHS drafts documents for your organization to submit. IHS scopes each engagement after a free introductory call.
Frequently asked questions
Does each body hold CMS approval for ambulatory surgery centers?
CMS publishes a list of approved accrediting organizations that names all four, though not by program. Each body's own page states its ASC position, as shown in the table above. On its ASC page, The Joint Commission leaves the final Medicare certification ruling to CMS.
How long does accreditation last?
The Joint Commission says approximately three years, AAAHC says three years, and QUAD A's fee schedule describes a re-survey every third year. The ACHC page we opened does not state a term, so confirm it with ACHC.
Are ambulatory surgery center surveys announced?
It depends on the body and the survey type, as the table shows. The ACHC page we opened does not say.
Do the fees differ between these bodies?
Only QUAD A published figures on the pages we opened, shown above with the effective date. Verify current fees with each body before you compare.
Can accreditation replace a state licensure survey?
That is a state rule, not an accreditor choice. AAAHC announced on August 11, 2026 an agreement with the Oregon Health Authority that lets its Medicare Deemed Status accreditation count toward relicensure for eligible Oregon ASCs. Confirm your state's position with your state agency before you pick a body.
Which accreditor should we choose?
IHS does not pick one for you, and the sources do not rank them. The drivers are your payer contracts, your state's rules, Medicare certification needs and the survey model. IHS scopes each engagement after a free introductory call.
