DNV vs. Joint Commission Hospital Accreditation: Total Cost of Ownership Comparison
Last updated: October 2026
DNV and The Joint Commission quote hospital accreditation fees individually. That makes it hard for CFOs and CNOs to compare the cost of DNV versus Joint Commission accreditation before committing to a multi-year engagement. This page documents what is publicly known, what must be custom-quoted, and what the total cost of ownership analysis actually looks like for hospitals evaluating both options.
The Bottom Line on Cost
The direct accreditation fees charged by DNV and TJC are custom-quoted and not publicly comparable. Total cost of ownership also depends on standards access, preparation, quality management consulting, and ongoing maintenance, which this page sets out by component.
DNV surveys hospitals annually (DNV NIAHO hospital page, opened October 3, 2026). The Joint Commission surveys on a triennial cycle.
Cost Component Analysis: DNV vs. TJC
1. Accreditation Application and Survey Fees
| Cost Component | DNV (NIAHO) | The Joint Commission (TJC) |
|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | Custom-quoted — not publicly disclosed | Custom-quoted — not publicly disclosed |
| Annual / Survey Fee | Annual survey fee — custom-quoted based on facility size and scope | Triennial survey fee — custom-quoted; includes separate annual fees between surveys |
| Standards Manuals | Complimentary download — NIAHO requirements, Revision 25-1 (DNV NIAHO hospital page, opened October 3, 2026) | Comprehensive Accreditation Manual for Hospitals (CAMH) purchased separately; updates sold individually |
2. Preparation and Consulting Costs
| Cost Component | DNV (NIAHO) | The Joint Commission (TJC) |
|---|---|---|
| ISO 9001 QMS Development | Required — phased over 4 years; consulting fees scoped per engagement | Not required |
3. Ongoing Maintenance Costs
| Cost Component | DNV (NIAHO) | The Joint Commission (TJC) |
|---|---|---|
| Standards Update Monitoring | Annual NIAHO revision cycle — IHS provides advisory support for policy updates (NIAHO Revision 25-1 eff. Sept 8, 2025) | CAMH updates purchased and distributed as they occur; training required on standard changes |
Total Cost of Ownership: Costs Outside the Accreditor's Invoice
The following cost categories fall outside the accreditor's invoice:
Staff Time and Overtime
Survey preparation can add overtime for nursing staff, quality management personnel, and administrative staff who prepare compliance documentation. That cost shows up in payroll, not on an accreditation budget line.
Standards Manual Costs
TJC sells the Comprehensive Accreditation Manual for Hospitals and its updates. DNV offers its NIAHO requirements as a complimentary download (DNV NIAHO hospital page, opened October 3, 2026).
ISO 9001 and Value-Based Payment Programs
The quality objectives, process monitoring, and CAPA infrastructure required for ISO 9001 certification can also support a hospital's HVBP, HRRP, and MIPS quality work.
North Carolina Routine Inspection Exemption
Under 10A NCAC 13B .3106 (rule text, opened October 3, 2026), North Carolina hospitals accredited through an accrediting body approved under section 1865(a) of the Social Security Act are not subject to routine state licensure inspections. The exemption is not specific to DNV.
IHS Consulting Engagement Costs for DNV Accreditation
IHS engagements are scoped to each client's specific situation. Engagement fees are customized based on scope, complexity, and timeline. IHS offers a complimentary discovery call before scoping an engagement. Key scoping factors:
- Facility type and size — acute care hospital, critical access hospital, ASC, psychiatric facility
- Prior accreditation status — initial accreditation (no prior CMS deeming), switching from TJC, switching from HFAP
- Number of service lines — facilities with behavioral health, specialty designations, or multiple campuses require broader scope
- ISO 9001 QMS starting point — facilities with existing quality management infrastructure require less build; de novo ISO 9001 implementation requires more
- Consulting scope — full-cycle engagement (gap analysis through ISO 9001 certification) vs. targeted scope (mock survey only, NIAHO policy gap analysis only, Revision 25-1 update only)
Frequently Asked Questions
Is DNV accreditation cheaper than TJC for small critical access hospitals?
Neither DNV nor TJC publishes a fee schedule, so the comparison turns on the quotes a hospital receives. DNV's requirements for critical access hospitals are in NIAHO Revision 25-1 (DNV NIAHO hospital page, opened October 3, 2026). IHS provides CAH-specific DNV readiness assessments.
What does IHS's ISO 9001 implementation actually include?
IHS builds the ISO 9001 QMS infrastructure from day one of a DNV engagement: Quality Policy (organizational commitment approved by Board/CEO), Quality Objectives (measurable targets aligned with CMS value-based payment metrics), Process Map (end-to-end documentation for core clinical and operational workflows), Document Control System (version control, SOP review cycles, obsolete document management), Internal Audit Program (scheduled audits beginning in Year 1), and Management Review Protocol (defined cadence and agenda for leadership quality reviews). The system is built to be actually used — management reviews generate records, quality indicators are tracked monthly, internal audits produce findings and corrective actions. A QMS that exists only on paper can draw findings at DNV's ISO 9001 assessment.
How long does a TJC-to-DNV transition take?
DNV's NIAHO hospital page (opened October 3, 2026) says hospitals accredited by DNV achieve ISO 9001 certification at the end of their fourth annual survey. IHS scopes a transition engagement with deliverables set around each annual survey.
Which NIAHO requirements does DNV currently post for hospitals?
For acute care and critical access hospitals, DNV's hospital page offers Revision 25-1 of its NIAHO requirements, marked as updated and effective September 8, 2025. The same page lists a separate NIAHO standards document for psychiatric and behavioral hospitals (DNV, NIAHO accreditation for hospitals, page opened October 3, 2026). The page showed no later revision when we opened it, so check it again before a survey.
Ready to Evaluate the True Cost of DNV for Your Facility?
IHS provides cost analysis consultations for hospitals considering DNV, including total cost of ownership modeling and ISO 9001 QMS implementation scoping. IHS does not market Joint Commission readiness for hospitals. If you ask about it, IHS runs a process-led intake, says on the first call that life safety, the physical plant and whole-facility survey readiness are outside its work, and refers the on-site and physical-plant work to firms that do it. In North Carolina, 10A NCAC 13B .3106 removes routine state inspections for facilities accredited by any CMS-approved accrediting body, DNV and The Joint Commission alike (page opened October 3, 2026).
