A California home care organization (HCO) license is the license the California Department of Social Services (CDSS) issues under the Home Care Services Consumer Protection Act to an organization that arranges nonmedical home care through its own affiliated home care aides. It is for home care organizations forming, expanding or changing their structure in California. Integral Healthcare Solutions (IHS) drafts your home care organization's program description, policies and application packet; your leadership sets service scope and files.
What is a California home care organization license?
The governing law is the Home Care Services Consumer Protection Act, California Health and Safety Code (HSC) Division 2, Chapter 13, “Home Care Services” (sections 1796.10 through 1796.70). Article 6 covers “Licensure of Home Care Organizations” and Article 7 covers “Home Care Organization Operating Requirements.” CDSS administers it through Community Care Licensing's Home Care Services Branch. This page reflects the statute as displayed on the California Legislature's site on October 2, 2026.
CDSS's Home Care Services page states: “California law established the Home Care Services Consumer Protection Act which, as of January 2016, requires Home Care Organizations to be licensed,” and that the law aims to “promote consumer protection for elderly and disabled individuals who hire private aides.”
The statute's definitions in HSC 1796.12 set the scope. A home care organization is “an individual, 18 years of age or older, firm, partnership, corporation, limited liability company, joint venture, association, or other entity that arranges for home care services by an affiliated home care aide to a client, and is licensed pursuant to this chapter.” Home care services are “nonmedical services and assistance provided by a registered home care aide to a client who, because of advanced age or physical or mental disability, cannot perform these services.”
Who needs it and what triggers it
An organization that arranges nonmedical home care through affiliated aides falls within the HCO definition and the licensing requirement CDSS describes, unless a statutory exclusion applies. HSC 1796.17(b) says a home care organization does not include, among others, a licensed home health agency, a licensed hospice, a licensed health facility, a person performing services through In-Home Supportive Services, a home medical device retail facility, and an organization vendored or contracted through a regional center under the Lanterman Act; HSC 1796.14(c) lists similar exclusions for aides. IHS did not review every exclusion; whether one applies to you is a question for your counsel. The usual triggers are:
- Forming a new home care organization in California.
- An organizational change, such as new ownership or a new location. CDSS's fee page lists Change in Location (HCO) $100 and Change in Corporation $200, and HSC 1796.17(a) states that each home care organization shall be separately licensed. IHS did not review the filing requirements behind either change; your organization confirms them before filing.
- Bringing on caregivers, who must be on the state's home care aide registry. CDSS states the law “creates a public online registry for Home Care Aides who have been background checked.”
Licensure continues after approval. The Home Care Services Branch handles “processing applications, receiving and responding to complaints and conducting unannounced visits to ensure compliance” (CDSS).
How IHS helps
The CDSS application asks for a set of supplemental documents beyond the forms, and those documents describe how the organization will operate. IHS builds them in this order:
- A gap assessment of your organization against the CDSS application requirements and the operating requirements in Chapter 13.
- Questionnaires on services, staffing, training and client intake, used to build a crosswalk from each requirement to the document that meets it.
- Drafting the program description, job descriptions, personnel and training controls, client service records and policies.
- Drafting the application text for the packet, which your organization reviews and files with CDSS.
- A review of the assembled packet before you file.
Your organization supplies ownership records, service boundaries, staffing and training plans, and leadership decisions on service scope.
The limit: aide registration and background checks run through the state, not IHS. This page covers the state license only. IHS drafts; your organization files with CDSS and handles all communication with it.
What to have ready
Each item ties to HSC Chapter 13 as displayed October 2, 2026, or to CDSS's application pages.
- Form HCS 281, the application instructions; CDSS's first step is “Review the HCS 281 for application instructions” (CDSS application process).
- The Section A application forms: HCS 200, 215, 308, 309, 402 and 9165.
- The supplemental documents CDSS asks you to “compile” with the forms (same page). The page's Section B lists: B1 partnership agreement, articles of incorporation or articles of organization; B2 job descriptions for each position; B3 personnel policies; B4 training plan; B5 home care organization program description; B6 insurance information. Section A also includes HCS 402 (Employee Dishonesty Bond) and HCS 9165 (Board of Directors Statement).
- Your legal entity and ownership records, matched to the entity types in the HCO definition (HSC 1796.12).
- A written description of the nonmedical services you will arrange and the clients you will serve, tied to the statute's definition of home care services.
- Acceptable identification for the people who will initiate the background examination; HSC 1796.32 lists identification cards with which an applicant “may initiate a background examination to be a licensed home care organization.”
- A roster of caregivers and their registry status, since home care services are provided by a registered home care aide (HSC 1796.12).
- A tracking method for aide registry renewals; HSC 1796.31 states that a registered aide “shall renew his or her registration every two years.”
- A budget line for the CDSS license fee (see the cost section).
Bring what you have to the introductory call; the gap assessment starts from it.
How it compares
The statute recognizes two ways a caregiver can work, and only one of them involves an organization license. HSC 1796.12 defines a registered home care aide as “an affiliated home care aide or independent home care aide ... listed on the home care aide registry.”
- A licensed home care organization arranges home care services through affiliated aides and holds the CDSS license.
- An independent home care aide is an individual caregiver listed on the registry, without an organization license.
- IHS found nothing in the sources it reviewed that ties private accreditation to the CDSS license, and no reviewed source says accreditation substitutes for it. IHS covers one such program on its ACHC home care page.
A licensed home health agency is excluded from the definition of a home care organization under HSC 1796.17(b)(1), and home care services are limited to nonmedical services. IHS did not review California's home health licensing rules for this page.
What it costs
CDSS sets the license and registration fees and publishes them on its application fees page, including:
| Fee | Amount | Time base |
|---|---|---|
| Home Care Organization License | $5,603 | 2 Years |
| Home Care Aide Registration | $35 | 2 Years |
| Change in Location (HCO) | $100 | not stated |
| Change in Corporation | $200 | not stated |
Read October 2, 2026; verify current fees with the California Department of Social Services. IHS scopes each engagement after a free introductory call.
What this is not
- It is not legal advice, and it is not a guarantee of CDSS's licensing decision.
- IHS does not file the application, run background checks or register aides. IHS drafts; your organization files with CDSS.
Frequently asked questions
What is a home care organization (HCO) license in California?
It is the license CDSS issues under the Home Care Services Consumer Protection Act. HSC 1796.12 defines a home care organization as an individual or entity that arranges for home care services by an affiliated home care aide to a client and is licensed under the chapter. CDSS states the Act has required home care organizations to be licensed since January 2016.
Do I need a California HCO license to provide nonmedical in-home care?
If your organization arranges nonmedical home care through affiliated aides, it falls within the HCO definition in HSC 1796.12, unless a statutory exclusion applies (HSC 1796.17(b)), and CDSS states the Act requires home care organizations to be licensed. HSC 1796.17(b) excludes, among others, a licensed home health agency, a licensed hospice and a licensed health facility; IHS did not review every exclusion, and whether one applies to you is a question for your counsel. An individual caregiver working independently is listed on the registry as an independent home care aide instead.
How do I apply for a home care organization license with CDSS?
CDSS's steps begin with reviewing Form HCS 281 for application instructions, then completing the application forms and compiling the supplemental documents. The Section A forms include HCS 200, 215, 308, 309, 402 and 9165. IHS drafts the supplemental documents and application text; your organization files.
What supplemental documents does CDSS want?
The CDSS application page's Section B lists: B1 partnership agreement, articles of incorporation or articles of organization; B2 job descriptions for each position; B3 personnel policies; B4 training plan; B5 home care organization program description; B6 insurance information. Section A also includes HCS 402 (Employee Dishonesty Bond) and HCS 9165 (Board of Directors Statement). Check the current HCS 281 instructions for the full list.
How much does a California HCO license cost?
CDSS's application fees page lists $5,603 for a Home Care Organization License on a two-year time base, and $35 for a Home Care Aide Registration for two years. Verify current fees with CDSS.
How long does CDSS take to approve an HCO application?
IHS did not find a published CDSS processing timeline on the pages it reviewed. Plan around CDSS's review rather than a fixed date.
Do my caregivers need to be registered home care aides, and how does the background check work?
HSC 1796.12 defines home care services as services provided by a registered home care aide, and CDSS describes a public online registry of aides who have been background checked. Aides renew their registration every two years under HSC 1796.31. Background checks run through the state, not IHS.
Does accreditation replace the California HCO license?
IHS did not review a California source on whether accreditation affects the CDSS license, so this page does not say. It covers the state license only.
What do CDSS unannounced visits look for?
CDSS states that the Home Care Services Branch conducts unannounced visits to ensure compliance. The operating requirements are in Article 7 of HSC Chapter 13, Home Care Organization Operating Requirements, which is what IHS builds your policies against.
